About SAHTU Divisional Education Council

The Sahtu Divisional Education Council is an Agency of the Government of the Northwest Territories.

The Mission of the Sahtu Divisional Education Council is:To provide excellent, culturally relevant, educational opportunities for students, who will experience success in a caring school environment and become life long learners.

The Sahtu DEC was established on April 1, 1989, to provide K to 12 education to all students within the Sahtu Region. An interim board was established in December 1988 until the Board was established.


The Sahtu DEC Members:


Karea Peachy           ( Norman Wells (Chair) )

Angela Grandjambe      ( Fort Good Hope )

Mary Ann Vital                       ( Deline )

Sally Ann Horassi                   ( Tulita )

Trudy Kochon                   ( Colville Lake )